Student Transfer Toolkit

Are you being denied a transfer? Please contact Cici Tompkins with questions at 314-561-8646.

Background Information

In 1993, the Missouri General Assembly and Governor Mel Carnahan passed the Outstanding Schools Act. A provision of this law allows children who reside in an unaccredited school district to transfer to a school district in the same or adjoining county. After years of legal challenges that prevented enforcement of the statute, the Missouri Supreme Court unanimously upheld the constitutionality of the law in a June 2013 decision. The decision brings a huge victory to the tens of thousands of kids across Missouri living in an unaccredited school district.

At CEAM, we are here to serve as a hub of information and support for parents who choose to embark on this process. Below are some resources that you may find helpful. Please contact us if you have any questions at (314) 561-8646.

I want to receive important deadline reminders and stay informed!

Official Enrollment Process and Forms

Current Unaccredited School Districts (updated December 2016):

  • Normandy Schools Collaborative

Families considering participating in the student transfer program for the 2017-2018 school year will be able to submit applications from January 3 – February 1, 2017 by appointment only at the Normandy Schools Collaborative Campus Support Center located at 3855 Lucas and Hunt Road, St. Louis, MO 63121. To schedule your appointment call 314-493-0456.

Normandy – Monday-Friday, 8:00am-4:00pm
Normandy 2017-2018 school year Transfer Application Process and Paperwork

School Districts Available for the Student Transfer Process:

St Louis City – St Louis City Public Schools

St Louis County – Affton, Bayless, Brentwood, Clayton, Ferguson-Florissant, Hancock Place, Hazelwood, Jennings, Kirkwood, Ladue, Lindbergh, Maplewood-Richmond Heights, Mehlville, Parkway, Pattonville, Ritenour, Riverview Gardens, Rockwood, University City, Valley Park, Webster Groves

St Charles County – Fort Zumwalt, Francis Howell, Orchard Farm, St Charles City, Wentzville

Jefferson Co – Crystal City, Desoto, Dunklin, Festus, Fox, Grandview, Hillsboro, Jefferson Co, Kingston, Northwest, Sunrise, Windsor

Franklin Co – Franklin Co, Gasconade Co R-1, Gasconade Co R-II, Lonedell, Meramec Valley, New Haven, Richwoods, Saint Clair, Spring Bluff, Strain-Japan, Sullivan, Union, Washington

Other – Eligible Charter Schools (Call 314-561-8646 for a list of eligible schools)

Returning Transfer Deadline:

To return to your transfer school for the 2017-2018 school year you must submit your Intent to Return form to your transfer school no later than February 1, 2017.

Normandy – Wednesday, February 1, 4pm
Riverview Gardens – Wednesday, February 1

Residency re-verification deadlines:

Normandy – Wednesday, February 24, 4pm
Riverview Gardens – June 1- 22, 9am-3:30pm by appointment only. Call 314-869-2505 ext 2489.

Attention Riverview Gardens returning transfer families:

Since the transfer program has ended in Riverview Gardens, the Student Transitional Enrollment Program (STEP) was created to allow transfer students to return to their receiving districts for the length of time determined by the district.

Please be advised: the form needs to be signed by the receiving district superintendent or charter president. Please contact your receiving district for guidance on this process.

** If your district has told you that you can’t return or you will be impacted by lack of transportation, we strongly encourage you to still submit paperwork. It is possible that new legislation could grandfather you in. There is no deadline for reenrolling in Riverview Gardens.**

Important dates:

  • The deadline to return the form to apply for the STEP program is March 10th at 4pm. One form per student. (Please make sure to initial not just check all of the “parent/guardian acknowledgments.”)
  • Residency re-verification will happen between June 1- 22, 9am-3:30pm by appointment only. Call 314-869-2505 ext. 2489.

Transfer Tips:

  • We STRONGLY recommend that you photocopy your completed paperwork and ask the recipient of your paperwork to date and initial your copies. Document the names, titles, dates and times of everyone you speak and interact with.
  • If you are denied transfer or have any concerns with your application please contact us immediately at (314) 561-8646.
  • Use CEAM’s School Visit Checklist to help you pick a district that will be the right fit for your child.