Reimagining Education

Support the #CEAMCares Covid-19 Family Emergency Relief Fund

The CEAM Team is working in real-time with hundreds of highly vulnerable Missouri families whose lives are being drastically affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. In all corners of the state, our families’ needs are already at the critical phase. We urge you to consider supporting CEAM’s most vulnerable families and please keep in mind… no contribution is too large.

Donate here

3,000 Students Trapped in Failing Schools

June 6, 2014, St. Louis, MO – The Children’s Education Alliance of Missouri (CEAM) is calling for State Education Commissioner Chris Nicastro to continue to allow transfers out of the unaccredited Normandy School District.

Today the commissioner announced that only students who completed the transfer process to a new school district last year will be allowed to continue. All other students, apparently including those who met a previous February 3rd deadline for the 2014-15 school year, will be trapped in the Normandy School District after it officially lapses on June 30th and becomes the Normandy Schools Collaborative July 1st under the control of the state.

The new entity will likely not retain its “unaccredited” designation, thereby removing the label that makes it subject to section 167.131 of the Outstanding Schools Act that allows students in unaccredited districts to transfer to a neighboring, higher-performing district.

One Normandy parent, who asked not to be identified by name, lives in an apartment complex that is divided into two school districts: Normandy and Ritenour. Given the turmoil and lack of accreditation in Normandy, the parent said she would simply prefer for her child to attend Ritenour along with the other children in her apartment complex. She is not alone.

To help Normandy parents understand the current situation CEAM is holding a Parent Town Hall on Tuesday, June 10th at the Indian Trails Branch of the St. Louis County Library at 8400 Delport Drive, 63114. Doors will open at 6 p.m. and the meeting is scheduled from 6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.



« Previous Post:

» Next Post: